Player of the year 2014: Vote in our annual poll now

Five leading players will enter into battle to gain the support of League Express readers over the Christmas period in the League Express annual Readers’ Poll, while another five will also do battle for the title of League Express Young Player of the Year.

There are also polls in a wide variety of categories covering both the Super League and the Championship competitions, with readers also invited to vote for a Super League Team of the Year.

This article originally appeared in League Express newspaper. Click here to download the latest digital version to your computer, smartphone or tablet

[follow id=”LeagueExpress” size=”large” count=”true” ][follow id=”RLWorld” size=”large” count=”true” ]

After over half of League Express readers voted for Huddersfield Giants captain – and current Albert Goldthorpe Medal winner – Danny Brough in 2013, Brough is again shortlisted for the award in 2014. Should he win, he would become only the fourth player to win the award twice – after Sean Long, Paul Sculthorpe and Kevin Sinfield.

Steve Prescott Man of Steel Daryl Clark is also in contention, after a sensational final season with Castleford Tigers. Fellow Man of Steel nominee James Roby is another nominated for your vote, after playing a crucial role in St Helens’ run to Grand Final glory earlier this year.


Warrington’s Chris Hill and new Widnes captain Kevin Brown are the other two players on the shortlist.

Leeds youngster Liam Sutcliffe claimed the prestigious Young Player of the Year last year in one of the tightest votes in the history of our readers’ polls, and he is again nominated for the 2014 award. Daryl Clark is included in the list, as is Albert Goldthorpe Rookie of the Year Joe Burgess, Warrington’s Matty Russell and Widnes’ Jack Owens.

Click here to download the latest issue of Rugby League World magazine to your computer, smartphone or tablet

[follow id=”RLWorld” size=”large” count=”true” ][follow id=”LeagueExpress” size=”large” count=”true” ]


The Readers’ Poll results will be revealed in the first issue of League Express of 2015, on Monday 5 January.

Past winners
League Express Player of the Year
1999 Sean Long (St Helens)
2000 Sean Long (St Helens)
2001 Paul Sculthorpe (St Helens)
2002 Paul Sculthorpe (St Helens)
2003 Brian Carney (Wigan Warriors)
2004 Andy Farrell (Wigan Warriors)
2005 Jamie Lyon (St Helens)
2006 Paul Wellens (St Helens)
2007 Trent Barrett (Wigan Warriors)
2008 James Graham (St Helens)
2009 Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos)
2010 Pat Richards (Wigan Warriors)
2011 Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)
2012 Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos)
2013 Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants)

League Express Young Player of the Year
1999 Danny Orr (Castleford)
2000 Richard Horne (Hull FC)
2001 Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos)
2002 Richard Horne (Hull FC)
2003 Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos)
2004 Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos)
2005 Danny Brough (Hull FC)
2006 James Roby (St Helens)
2007 Sam Burgess (Bradford Bulls)
2008 Joe Westerman (Castleford Tigers)
2009 Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)
2010 Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)
2011 Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos)
2012 John Bateman (Bradford Bulls)
2013 Liam Sutcliffe (Leeds Rhinos)